Jobs Podcast iTunes Podcast RSS Tumblr @TimOfLegend @DoubleFine Google+ YouTube Facebook RSS
 
To participate in the excellent Double Fine Action Forums community, log in or register now!
 
Stacking on xmonad - black screen
Posted: 11 May 2013 10:40 PM
  [ Ignore ]
Newbie
Broken Age Backer MASSIVE CHALICE Backer
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2013-05-09

Hello everyone,

sorry for the exotic question. When I start Stacking
in a regular window manager like Sawfish it starts
up just fine. But in xmonad I get a black screen
with no sound and no error messages in the terminal.

In my search of the internet and the forum I was unable
to find an answer to this. Also the xmonad irc channel
had no answer on how to fix this.

Any help greatly appreciated.

Sincerely
Sysedit

Profile
 
Posted: 12 May 2013 12:28 PM
  [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Newbie
Broken Age Backer MASSIVE CHALICE Backer
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2013-05-09

Hello everyone,

What I did at the moment was just to change the window manager temporarily.

I have bound this to a key. So I just push the key combination and
another wm starts that can handle Stacking. As soon as I am done,
I kill the wm and xmonad comes back up.

http://www.haskell.org/haskellwiki/Xmonad/Config_archive/obtoxmd

Sincerely
Sysedit

Profile
 
Posted: 18 June 2013 04:31 AM
  [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Newbie
Broken Age Backer MASSIVE CHALICE Backer
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2013-06-16

Sorry for bumping this (relatively) old post, but I was experiencing the same issue and setting the window manager name to “LG3D” solved it for me. By the way, this is the same think you can do to fix some java apps which start up with a blank, grey, window (when using a tiling wm such as xmonad).

Edit: I just checked that enabling either XMonad.Hooks.EwmhDesktops or XMonad.Hooks.ICCCMFocus seem to work, too.

 Signature 

Quidquit latine dictum sit, altum viditur.

Profile
 
Posted: 18 June 2013 03:05 PM
  [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Jr. Action Poster
Broken Age Backer MASSIVE CHALICE Backer
Total Posts:  31
Joined  2012-03-23

I haven’t played Stacking yet, but that LG3D hack fixed Costume Quest in xmonad (and I assume it would fix The Cave too, since it suffered from the same problem). Thanks a lot!

Profile
 
 
To participate in the excellent Double Fine Action Forums community, log in or register now!